Shapes rendered in center of map

Dec 13, 2009 at 3:09 AM

Below is a link to a shape file that displays all the lakes in Nevada US.

No matter what I do (I'm new to this, but... I feel like I've hacked everything except the one I need) the lakes show up over the top of Africa (center of map)

http://cid-c0f357e4555270e7.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Public/Fishing-Lakes.dbf

Can anyone give any tips on how to get this rendered???

Here's my C# code to load up the file & below that some Xaml for display.

Any thoughts?

ShapeFile shapeFile = new ShapeFile();
shapeFile.ReadShapes(Resource_Nevada.Fishing_Lakes1.ToStream());

GraphicsLayer graphicsLayer = MyMap.Layers["shapefileGraphicsLayer"] as GraphicsLayer;
foreach (ShapeFileRecord shapeFileRecord in shapeFile.Records)
{
	Graphic graphic = shapeFileRecord.ToGraphic();
	if (graphic != null)
	{
		graphicsLayer.Graphics.Add(graphic);
	}
}

<esri:Map x:Name="MyMap" 
                  Extent="" CacheMode="BitmapCache">
			<esri:Map.Layers>
				<esri:ArcGISDynamicMapServiceLayer ID="topo" Url="http://server.arcgisonline.com/ArcGIS/rest/services/World_Terrain_Base/MapServer"/>
				<esri:GraphicsLayer ID="shapefileGraphicsLayer" >
				</esri:GraphicsLayer>
			</esri:Map.Layers>
        </esri:Map>

Dec 15, 2009 at 9:32 PM

Is the map Projection defined for the shapefile?  If it includes a .prj file then it is.  If it does not and the API is interpreting the coordinates as being the same as the background layer which I assume is from ArcGIS Online.  You need to know what the projection/coordinate system is and then define it with ESRI ArcView software, or hack that too.

HTH

Jan 9, 2010 at 11:32 PM

I have a file that is {file_name}.prj. When I open it, it is plain text file with 6 lines of comma seperated information (GEOCS, projections, units, primem?) stuff like that...

How do I tell the shapefile reader library (or esri) about this metadata?

Dec 17, 2010 at 2:56 PM
Edited Dec 17, 2010 at 3:44 PM
staxmanade wrote: